Croatia, Land of the Airdraftophobes

Ok, so I probably didn’t tell you but I am now (revelation) living in Croatia with my parents for a year (maybe two, depending on what my mom decides).

So at this point you’re probably asking yourself why I titled this post ‘Land of the Airdraftophobes’. Don’t worry, it’s not due to a faulty keyboard of mine. I’m getting to it now.

After coming to Croatia, I quickly learned that everyone’s biggest fright in Croatia is air drafts. They absolutely can’t stand a tiny bit of air circulating through their house. I am beginning to think that they have a sixth sense for them because when I’m with local friends I don’t feel a thing but they suddenly start freaking out about a certain air draft.

Another thing Croatians can’t stand is walking around barefoot. Now I, having spent most of my childhood in New Zealand, am in a bit of a disagreement with that. While in New Zealand it is perfectly acceptable to go out to the dairy barefoot, there’s probably a law against that in Croatia. As soon as you enter a house, you are given slippers to wear. Now I can’t stand them because they make me feel like I’m going out any minute.

I’ve got this really hopeless phone that’s extremely slow, and I’m planning on getting a new one but I don’t exactly trust the amazon postal service in Croatia, so I’ll have to wait (Yet another thing on my to do list).

I decided to buy myself a cute little notebook for jotting my ideas down and after a sleepless night jotting everything from the postal service in Croatia to the contents of my kitchen cupboard, it’s already cluttered (sign of a healthy imagination?)

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to be updating my blog, changing the theme, removing some posts and maybe even changing the site name so it’s going to be a complete construction site (Don’t worry, I’ll try to make it as bearable as possible).

I’ve decided to participate in the postaweek challenge by Daily Post so I’ll be posting (hopefully) at least once a week…

I'm part of Post A Week 2016

3 Replies to “Croatia, Land of the Airdraftophobes”

  1. Ahhh, air draft. You ask any older Croat to choose between 3 types of cancer or sitting in the draft for 30 seconds and they will choose cancer. And you have to wear slippers or your kidneys will fall off 🙂

    Also, besides delivery price nothing wrong in ordering from Amazon 😉

    Like

    1. That is so true 😃. And the thing about the kidneys falling off 😂. I’ll do my best in convincing myself to get the phone via Amazon, thanks for the support 😆

      Like

Leave a Reply

